RMJHL disbands after three seasons

After three seasons the Rocky Mountain Junior Hockey League (RMJHL) has called it quits. The league announced today that it would not continue and all operations have ceased.

The five-team league based in Colorado struggled to gain ground amongst the growing hockey state. Over three years of existence eight teams competed for at least one season.

Colorado Rampage, Colorado Thunderbirds and Pikes Peak Miners were the remaining “original” teams from season one. Breckenridge Bucks and Glacier Yetis played just one season (2015-16) while the Aspen Leafs went dark after two.

The league expanded with Steamboat Wranglers joining for the 2016-17 campaign. A second team from Breckenridge (Bolts) entered play last season.

RMJHL champions

2016  Aspen Leafs

2017  Pikes Peak Miners

2018  Steamboat Wranglers


Tech enthusiast, marketing and media. @Ludwig_Media

Posted in Hockey, News
2 comments on “RMJHL disbands after three seasons
  1. shannonll says:

    Thank you, Scott, for your coverage and work supporting the league.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter
Junior Ice Hockey News
Hardball Minnesota
Follow Ludwig Media on WordPress.com
  • 65,672 hits


%d bloggers like this: