Carolina Dynamo, FC LVU Sonic Compete For Inaugural USASA National Amateur Championship

The inaugural USASA National Amateur Championship matchup is set: host-club Carolina Dynamo (USL PDL) will face FC Lehigh Valley United Sonic (NPSL) on Sunday, May 26.  The winner will be awarded the Hank Steinbrecher trophy and crowned USASA National Champion.  Kickoff is scheduled for 10:30 AM (CT).
The event features four of the top amateur clubs in the United States: USASA Amateur Cup winner Battery Park Gunners, USASA Open Cup champion Croatian Eagles SC, NPSL champion FC LVU Sonic and PDL runner-up Carolina Dynamo.
On May 24, FC LVU Sonic earned their spot in the final by defeating the Croatian Eagles 1-0.  Carolina Dynamo defeated Battery Park Gunners 3-1 in the other semifinal.


CHICAGO, IL (March 12, 2013) – The United States Adult  Soccer Association (USASA), the national governing body of adult soccer in the US, has announced the National Amateur Championship, a new tournament that will determine the nation’s best amateur soccer team.

The National Amateur Championship, the first championship of its kind, will be ushered in during the U.S. Soccer Federation’s Centennial year, taking place Friday, May 24 through Sunday, May 26 at Macpherson Stadium in Greensboro, North Carolina.

“We are proud to announce the inaugural National Amateur Championship, which will bring together the best amateur teams in the country and crown a true National Amateur Champion,” USASA Executive Director Duncan Riddle said. “It is especially fitting to begin this tournament as U.S. Soccer celebrates its Centennial year.  Many of the member leagues and teams of USASA are also commemorating U.S. Soccer’s  100th year and have done so much to grow and popularize the game of soccer throughout the United States.”

The tournament will feature four teams the Croatian Eagles (Milwaukee, Wis.), the Battery Park Gunners (Boston),  the Carolina Dynamo (Greensboro, N.C.), and FC Sonic (Allentown, Penn.) The Eagles are the reigning USASA Open Cup Champions and the Gunners are the USASA Amateur Cup Champions, while the Dynamo and Sonic represent the USL PDL League and NPSL League, respectively.

The winning team will be awarded the Hank Steinbrecher trophy, which the USASA named in honor of the former Secretary General of U.S. Soccer and National Soccer Hall of Fame inductee.

“What a fantastic year to celebrate not only the 100th anniversary of U.S. Soccer but to start a new, truly historic National Amateur Cup,” Steinbrecher said upon hearing the news. “I am looking forward to attending the event in Greensboro and spending time with players, referees and administrators. What fun it will be. My family and I are delighted to have the trophy named in our honor although the real honor will be to crown the first National Amateur Champion.”

Posted in News, Soccer
One comment on “Carolina Dynamo, FC LVU Sonic Compete For Inaugural USASA National Amateur Championship
  1. Scott says:

    FINAL: Carolina Dynamo 1, FC LVU Sonic 1. Carolina wins 3-2 in PK shootout.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter
Junior Ice Hockey News
Hardball Minnesota
Follow Ludwig Media on
  • 66,704 hits


%d bloggers like this: