FC Barcelona advance to Club World Cup Final

 On Wednesday in Abu Dhabi, FC Barcelona defeated Atlante FC 3-1 to advance to the FIFA Club World Cup Final.  Barcelona will face Estudiantes de La Plata in the final on Saturday.  The game will be shown on tape-delay at 8 PM (CT) on Fox Soccer Channel.

Despite giving up a goal in just the 5’ of the match, Barcelona dominated play throughout.  Barca outshot Altante 14-6 and held a 9-1 edge in corners.  Sergio Busquets (35’), Lionel Messi (55’) and Pedro (67’) scored for Barca, who earned their spot in the competition by winning the 2008-09 UEFA Champions League.

Past Club World Cup Champions

2000: Corinthians (Brazil) d. Vasco da Gama (Brazil)

2005: Sao Paulo (Brazil) d. Liverpool FC (England)

2006: Internacional (Brazil) d. FC Barcelona (Spain)

2007: AC Milan (Italy) d. Boca Juniors (Argentina)

2008: Manchester United (England) d. LDU Quito (Ecuador)

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow on Twitter
Follow Ludwig Media on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 24,837 hits
%d bloggers like this: